Month: August 2009

Hon’ble Shri. Mansoor Ahmed Bakshi, Vice President, Mumbai Bench, shall retire on 2nd September 2009. In his honour, the Bar Association has arranged a Full Court reference on 2nd September.


Shri. Bakshi, BA, LLB, practiced as an advocate / tax consultant for 19 years in the Jammu & Kashmir High Court prior to his elevation to the Bench on 29th June 1989. Apart from the Mumbai Bench, Shri. Bakshi has served as Vice President of the Ahmedabad, Kolkota and Chandigarh Benches of the Tribunal.


Hon’ble Shri. M. K. Chaturvedi, JM, Vice-President, Chennai Zone has been appointed administrative Member of the Central Administrative Tribunal, Guwahati Bench.


Shri. Chaturvedi has been party to several landmark judgements such as Walkeshwar Triveni 88 ITD 159 (Mum) (SB), Kwality Milk Foods 100 ITD 199 (Che) (SB), Rogini Garments 108 ITD 49 (Che) (SB) among others.


To fill the vacancy, Shri. Pradeep Parikh, AM, Vice-President, ITAT, Hyderabad Zone has been transferred to the Chennai Bench in the same capacity.


Shri. P. P. Parikh practiced as a Chartered Accountant in Ahmedabad from 1975 to 1994 till his elevation to the Bench on 24.05.1994.


Shri. Parikh has been party to several landmark judgements such as R. M. Valliappan 103 ITD 63 (Che) (SB), Narang Hotels 74 ITD 190 (Mum) (SB), Smt. Mahesh Batra 95 ITD 152 (Asr) (SB) among others.


We wish both Hon’ble Members good luck in their new postings.

The Direct Taxes Code Bill 2009 & Discussion Paper released by the Ministry of Finance today is available: The salient features of the Direct Taxes Code 2009 is also gi

Hon’ble Shri R. P. Garg, Sr. Vice President, Delhi Bench retired on 6th August 2009. A full court reference in his honour was held by the Delhi Bench of the Tribunal. Shri. Garg has been party to several landmark judgements such as ABN AMRO 97 ITD 89 (Cal) (SB), Gujarat Gas 115 ITD 218 (Ahd) (SB), Ashima Syntex 100 ITD 247 (Ahd) (SB) among others. We wish the Hon’ble member good luck in his new endeavours.

Local postings & transfers of Commissioners of Income-tax